Nomination Process


Nominating and Screening Committee consist of top select record producers, media, music managers, music compilers and Tv channel personnel for verification and eligibility.

The Nomination and Screening Committee returns the verified nominations to SAAFMA selection committee for the creation of a ballot. This ballot will then be sent out to the judging committee. The top 5 nominees from each category will be selected.

There will be no submission process, nominees are selected based on their success in the last 21 years.

To qualify as a nominee you must have released an album and had an impact in the Afro genre in the last 21 years

Official Voting

A panel of judges will select the qualifying nominees

All categories will be selected by the judges

To vote for you favourite nominee, you must SMS saafma, category and the name of the artist you voting for to 33282. SMS cost R1.50. Voting starts Wednesday. 5 October 2016 at 12am.

In case of a tie on points, that categories will be decided by public vote (tie breaker)

Qualification Criteria

All entries must have been released between 1994 and 2015.
In all categories, Artist must have actively performed within the eligibility period.

Each category must have a minimum of four eligible nominees. Rising category must have been in the industry for at least 1 – 3 years

All participants must be South African Citizens

Best Afro Rising Star

Soul Kulture
Birdie Mboweni


Best Afro Male

Vusi Nova

Best Afro Female

Judith Sephuma

Best Afro Album

Zonke- Work of Heart
Nathi- Buyelekhaya
Zahara- Mali
Musa- The Dream
Linda- Language of Love

Best Afro Pop Album

Nathi – Buyelekhaya
Vusi Nova- Naninina
Zahara- Mali

Best Afro Soul Album

Zonke – Work of Heart
Nathi- Buyelekhaya
Ayanda “Yanda” Tshabalala- It’s Time

Best Afro Jazz Album

Kunle Ayo-Atunse,The Revolution
Henry Philemon- Man of Definition
Phinda- Mbheka Phesheya

Best Afro Radio DJ

Umhlobo Wenene- Tsidi & Lunga
Radio 2000- Bertha
Metro FM- Bonang
Gagasi FM- Felix Hlophe
Ukhoza FM- Dudu Khoza

Best Adult Contemporary

Bheki Nqoko

Best Afro Group

The Soil
Soul Kulture

Best Afro Collaboration

Intonga Yam- Amanda Mankayi and Nathi
Mthande- Musa and Robbie Malinga
Nomakanjani- Nathi and Vusi Nova
Ngiyamthanda- Bheki Nqoko and Kelly Khumalo

Best Afro Music Producer

Mojalefa Thebe
Bongani Mahlaole

Public Favourite Song

Musa & Robbie Malinga- Mthande
Vusi Nova- Thandiwe
Zonke- Great Storm
Zahara- Mali
Nathi- Nomvula

Special Awards

Best Selling Album

Lifetime Achievers
Yvone Chaka Chaka Mhinga
Ray “Chikappa” Phiri

Chairman’s Special Award
Doc Shebeleza

Best Afro Promoter/Event
Durban Festival

All time Afro Classic Song
Sipho @Hot Stix” Mabusa- Burn Out